The best way to watch Marvel movies is in chronological order

There has by no means been a greater time to settle in and watch all 23 films of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The vast majority of the films can be found on a streaming service you most likely have already got, and all however one can be found to stream someplace.

For those who haven’t seen any of the films that make up Phases I-III (plus Spider-Man: Far From House), it could actually really feel somewhat overwhelming. For those who’ve solely seen a handful right here and there, you could not really feel like you might have a great grasp on the overarching story that weaves all through the movies. For those who’ve seen all of them, you could be searching for a brand new method to benefit from the collection.

That’s the place chronological story order is available in.

Watching in chronological order isn’t notably completely different than watching in launch order, but it surely makes every little thing really feel far more coherent. The 2 largest adjustments come proper out of the gate as Captain America: The First Avenger (the fifth film launched) and Captain Marvel (the 21st film launched) soar to No. 1 and a couple of, respectively.

MCU Chronological vs. Launch Order

Chronological OrderLaunch Order
Chronological OrderLaunch Order
Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)Iron Man (2008)
Captain Marvel (2019)The Unimaginable Hulk (2008)
Iron Man (2008)Iron Man 2 (2010)
Iron Man 2 (2010)Thor (2011)
The Unimaginable Hulk (2008)Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
Thor (2011)The Avengers (2012)
The Avengers (2012)Iron Man 3 (2013)
Iron Man 3 (2013)Thor: The Darkish World (2013)
Thor: The Darkish World (2013)Captain America: Winter Soldier (2014)
Captain America: Winter Soldier (2014)Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)Ant-Man (2015)
Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)Captain America: Civil Warfare (2016)
Ant-Man (2015)Physician Unusual (2016)
Captain America: Civil Warfare (2016)Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
Physician Unusual (2016)Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
Black Panther (2018)Black Panther (2018)
Thor: Ragnarok (2017)Avengers: Infinity Warfare (2018)
Avengers: Infinity Warfare (2018)Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)
Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018)Captain Marvel (2019)
Avengers: Endgame (2019)Avengers: Endgame (2019)
Spider-Man: Far From House (2019)Spider-Man: Far From House (2019)

(12 months in parentheses is when it was launched in theaters)

So, why chronological?

Proper from the get go in Captain America: The First Avenger, you’re launched to the Tesseract (the House Stone). It’s a serious plot level for that film particularly, but it surely comes again into play in Captain Marvel, and once more in Thor. The continuity of the Tesseract’s journey from falling via the hull of Johann Schmidt’s plane to Mission Pegasus to being in Nick Fury’s possession following Thor flows so completely.

That end-credit scene in chronological order delivers you proper into The Avengers, a film that offers with the Tesseract/House Stone extensively.

Then you might have appearances of different Infinity Stones in The Avengers (the soon-to-be discovered Thoughts Stone) and Thor: The Darkish World (the Actuality Stone) earlier than Guardians of the Galaxy lays all of it out on the road for you because the Collector explains what the stones even are.

This isn’t to say you haven’t any flexibility in chronological order, nevertheless. The primary few films are fairly set in stone as you do must get all the Avenger origin tales and introductions in earlier than The Avengers. When you end Captain America: Civil Warfare, you’ll be able to hit the trio of Spider-Man: Homecoming, Black Panther, and Physician Unusual in any order. I, for one, want to maintain T’Challa’s storyline flowing with Black Panther, then Homecoming, then verify in with Physician Unusual.

Thor: Ragnarok’s finish credit score scene leads proper into the extraordinary opening of Avengers: Infinity Warfare. In launch order, you’d go from Thor: Ragnarok to Black Panther earlier than returning to the destiny of the Asgardians.

Personally, I like to look at the two-movie epic of Infinity Warfare and Endgame in a single six-hour chunk. That method I can settle in and weep continuous for six hours. Due to this fact, I watch Ant-Man and The Wasp earlier than Infinity Warfare (and simply watch this end credit scene between the 2 epics). For those who’d want an comprehensible break from the crying, you should utilize Ant-Man and The Wasp as a palate cleanser.

Total, the variations between chronological and launch order are delicate. When you go chronological, although, you’ll by no means return.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *